top of page
My Journey of Motherhood

In all the years of growing up healthy I never questioned the reasons why my family was different. With each pregnancy, birth and growth of my children I have taken more responsibility and involvment in our health. I have expanded my version of health to include more then just the food we eat and how we move our bodies. The mental and physcial stress that comes with motherhood is often overlooked. Many women suffer alone. I want to see us come together to find support for our unique situations. 

Sweet Potato Black Bean Burgers

With the weather shifting to spring I am craving salads on some days and still some hearty winter foods like sweet potato. 

So today I decided to make a burger I could crumble on top of my salad!

1/2 of one large baked sweet potato (3/4 cup)

1 cup mashed black beans

1 egg

2 T almond flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp cumin

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

1 -2 T coconut oil

Mash sweet potato and black beans in a bowl. Add in other ingredients and stir all together. Heat coconut oil to medium high in skillet. Spoon in burger mix and flatten to make a pattie. Cook evenly on both sides. Makes about 4-6 patties. 

The dressing is made with equal parts plain yogurt and salsa verde! 


Read More About me
Abilene Moms Like...
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page